Province of Benguet

National, International Benguet Athlete-Medalists, Coaches Feted

TWENTY SEVEN Benguet athletes who won medals in recent national, and international sports competitions received recognition from Governor Dr. Melchor Daguines Diclas during the Jan. 16 flag-raising ceremony at the Provincial Capitol.

Aside from certificates of recognition, the athletes and their coaches also received cash incentives from the Provincial Government.

“Not only your medals or wins that are worthy of recognition, but more so your values of discipline, courage, and willpower as well as your humility and pride as iBenguet,” Governor Diclas said adding the Provincial Government will continue to support them and other Benguet athletes.

The Provincial LGU has been supportive to Benguet athletes who continue to raise the Benguet identity in national and international sports competition.

“On behalf of Team Lakay and the National Kickboxing Team, thank you to the Provincial Government headed by Governor Diclas for your unending support. Maraming maraming salamat po,” Kickboxing Coach Jaybee Ban-eg said in his response message during the recognition ceremony. Taekwondo Coach Danrey Velo also expressed gratitude to “everyone and to the Provincial Government who are very very supportive of us mapapandemic man o hindi.”

Of the 27 athletes, eight are international medalists:

[Southeast Asia Wrestling Championships held in Phnom Penh, Cambodia on Dec. 16-18, 2022]

Mariane Mariano

– Silver Medalist, Women’s Wrestling

Jason Baucas

– Silver Medalist, Greco-Roman Category

– He was also recognized on winning three gold medals during the Quarterly Wrestling National Open Competition in 2022

[Asian Kickboxing Championship 2022 held in Bangkok, Thailand on Dec. 14-18, 2022]

Claudine Veloso

– Bronze Medalist, Women’s Light Contact

Carlos Alvares

– Bronze Medalist, Men’s Light Contact

Kurt Lubrica

– Bronze Medalist, Men’s Low Kick

Jeanclaude Saclag

– Gold Medalist, Men’s Low Kick

Gina Iniong Araos

– Gold Medalist, Women’s Low Kick

Carol Maguide

– Silver Medalist, Full Contact

Team Lakay is headed by its founder and CEO, Mr. Marquez Sangiao who also heads the Philippine National Kickboxing Regional.

The rest (19) competed in various sports competition in the country:

[2022 Muaythai National Championships held in Subic, Zambales on Nov. 28-Dec. 3, 2022:

Levi Dawaton

– Bronze Medalist, Sr. Male, Novice

Audrel Kitzg Daniel

– Bronze Medalist, Sr. Male, Novice

Ryan Joe Bestre

– Bronze Medalist, Jr. Male, Novice

Art Getrex Potingan

– Bronze Medalist, Male, Wai Kru

Ronaldo Dominguez

– Silver Medalist, Jr. Male, Advance

Pennylope Padcayan

– Silver Medalist, Sr. Female, Advance

– Bronze Medalist, Female, Wai Kru

Erexter Taligan

– Gold Medalist, Sr. Male, Novice

Sarah Garwageo

– Gold Medalist, Jr. Female, Novice

Michael Rimando

– Gold Medalist, Sr. Male, Advance

Blane Mathew Comicho

– Gold, Jr. Male, Novice

Shiander Alley Casel

– Gold, Jr. Male, Novice

Renson Cornell

– Gold Medalist, Jr. Male, Advance

They are under coaches Zaidi Laruan (Advance), Heidel Solis (Novice), and Junjun Benito (Wai Kru).

[2022 PSC Batang Pinoy National Championships held in Vigan City, Ilocos Sur on Dec. 17-21, 2022]

Trisha Lobbonan

– Bronze Medalist, Taekwondo, Children, Female

Xian Craig Eusebio

– Bronze Medalist, Taekwondo, Children, Male

Zhaijan Mryle Corpuz

– Gold, Judo, Juvenile

Taekwondo Coach: Danrey Velo

Judo Coach: Htai Andro Kienh Cudao

[National Classic Bench Press Championship Competition held in Pasig City on Dec. 10, 2022]

Efreny Buslay

– Gold Medalist, Men’s Novice

Denesia Esnara

– Gold Medalist, Women’s 57kg Open Category

– Gold Medalist, Master-1 Women’s 57kg Category

– Adjudged as the Women’s Best Lifter of the Open Division Category

Gregorio Payat, Jr.

– Gold Medalist, Male 59kg Open Category

– Bronze Medalist, Master-1 Men’s 59kg Category

Audie Menzi was also recognized. He is a member of the Philippine Football National Team “AZKALS” and has participated in the 2022 Asian Football Federation Mitsubishi Electric Cup.

The awards and incentives were turn-over by Governor Diclas and Board Member Fernando Balaodan