kapangan dist

 CITIZENS CHARTER                                                                                                                  FUNCTIONAL STATEMENT

KDH Organizational chart new edit 1


The Kapangan Medicare Community Hospital was originally located at Labueg, Kapangan, Benguet. It started as the Kapangan Medical Aid Center in December 15, 1963. It was a joint project of several private organizations responding to the call of assistance for Medical Aid to Rural Areas (M.A.R.I.A), a project of the Phil. Medical Association.

In April 27, 1977, an agreement of contract of lease was made between the Phil. Medical Care Commission by its chairman Dr. Pacifico E. Marcos as the lessee and the Kapangan Medical Aid Center Inc. represented by Dr. Jesus V. Tameses and Msgr. William Brasseur as the lessor. It became the Kapangan Medicare Community and Health Center (KCHHC).

It is now know as the Kapangan Medicare Community Hospital (KMCH) after it was authorized to change its name by the Phil. Medical Care Commission (PMCC) in its Memorandum Circular No. 201,s.82, dated September 23, 1982.

During the July 16, 1990 earthquake, the building which was leased by the Catholic Mission of Kapangan was extensively damaged. A temporary relocation site was set up at Lomon, Kapangan until the construction of a new building at Central, Kapangan was completed and inaugurated on May 30, 1992.

Republic Act 7160 known as the Local Government Code of 1991 which took effect on January 1, 1992 brought another change in the management of the hospital. One of the provisions of this law is the devolution of all hospitals, except for some selected medical centers to the local government unit particularly the province. A transition period was in effect for more than one year before its full implementation.

Kapangan Medicare Community Hospital was devolved to the Local Government of Benguet and is now under the supervision of the Provincial Governor.

On January 24, 2017, Provincial Governor Crescencio C. Pacalso approved Provincial Ordinance No. 16-197 –Renaming the Abatan Emergency Hospital as Northern Benguet District Hospital, the Dennis Molintas Memorial Hospital as Dennis Molintas District Hospital, Itogon Municipal Hospital as Itogon district Hospital, and the Kapangan Medicare Community Hospital as Kapangan District Hospital.